To inform your colleagues about your availability, set your status in Care based on what you are currently doing. By default, Care comes with the following statuses:
-
Online
Available (for example, working on a case or communicating with a customer) -
Away
Taking a pause (for example, out for lunch or attending a meeting) -
Offline
Not available (for example, off from work after the shift ended or on vacation)
Users with the Manage Care workflows permission can add more statuses, for example, Lunch break, Training, or In a meeting, and decide which statuses agents can choose. For more information, see Set up agent statuses in Care.
Care detects when you start working in Care. If your current status doesn't count as working (for example, Away or Offline), Care prompts you to switch to a status that does. Choose a status from the list, where the status that you used last is preselected, or click Keep current status if you, for example, want to focus on a specific case.
By default, Care does not change your status when you are inactive. Your status stays the same until you change it manually. Users with the Manage Care workflows permission can configure Care to switch agents' statuses automatically after a predefined period of inactivity (see Automatically Update Care Users' Status).
What counts as activity
The following actions count as activity in Care. Each of them resets the inactivity timer:
-
Assigning a user to a case
-
Setting a case status, sentiment, priority, or case field
-
Setting a customer case field
-
Sending a reply or an internal note
-
Opening a case or a view
-
Enabling or disabling activity logs
-
Applying a quick filter
-
Typing in the reply box
-
Executing an AI reply assistant command — for example, Rephrase, Make Longer, Make Shorter, Simplify, Change Tone, or Translate To
When an agent manually logs out of Emplifi, their status is automatically switched to “Offline”.
Closing your browser or tab won’t automatically change your status to “Offline”. To switch your status, make sure to click the “Log out” button directly within Emplifi.
An agent's status is visible to everyone who works in Care, in Team availability (see below) and in the list of agents that opens when you want to assign a case (see Assign a Care Case to a Care Agent):
You can use the status as one of the criteria for assigning cases to Care agents automatically (see Automatically Assign Cases in Care). For example, you may want to assign new cases only to the agents who are currently in a status that you select, such as Online.
See the availability of your team in Care
Steps:
-
Go to Care.
-
At the bottom of the left menu, click Team availability.
The Team availability dialog opens. It shows your colleagues (Members), their statuses (Status), and their capacity (Capacity).[Screenshot: the Team availability dialog]
-
(Optional) To find a colleague or a status, enter its name in the Search users or statuses... field.
-
When you finish, click Close.
Capacity is shown as x/y, where x is the number of cases currently assigned to the agent and y is their maximum capacity. For more information, see Set Up the Maximum Capacity for Care Users.
Change your status in Care
The list of statuses shows only the statuses that are visible to agents, in the order and groups defined in Settings. For more information, see Set up agent statuses in Care.
Steps:
-
Go to Care.
-
At the bottom of the left menu, click Status, and select your status from the list.
[Screenshot: the status list in Care]
Result: Your status changes and your colleagues can see it.
If the status that you are in is hidden or deleted in Settings, Care switches you to Offline. When you start working in Care again, Care prompts you to choose a status that counts as working.