Skip to main content
Skip table of contents

Activate Profiles for Community and Set Up Profile Roles

Activate Profiles for Community

The number of Community profile slots available to you depends on your Emplifi plan. You can activate owned profiles on the following social media platforms:

  • Facebook

  • Instagram

  • LinkedIn (company pages only)

  • TikTok

  • YouTube

  • X (formerly Twitter)

Activate one profile for Community

To be eligible for Community activation, a profile must have an active “Publishing” connection (see Check and Establish Connections of Owned Profiles).

Steps:

  1. Go to Settings -> Profiles.

  2. Click the profile that you want to activate.

  3. Under Community Engagement, toggle the switch next to the Community Management option to ON.

    Community_ON.png

    The profile is activated for Community.

You can deactivate a profile at any point. To do so, toggle the switch next to the Community Management option to OFF, and confirm the deactivation. Once the profile is deactivated, Community stops gathering its content.

Activate multiple profiles for Community

To be eligible for Community activation, a profile must have an active “Publishing” connection (see Check and Establish Connections of Owned Profiles).

Steps:

  1. Go to Settings -> Profiles.

  2. Click Filter on the top right.

    Click_Filter.png

    The filter panel opens.

  3. Select the following filtering criteria:

    Filtering_criteria.png
    • Under Connection status, select Connected.

    • Under Connection type, select Publishing.

    • Under Community connection status, select Disabled.

  4. Select any other criteria that are relevant to your use case. For example, you may want to select specific social media platforms or user groups.

  5. Click Filter profiles.
    The profiles that meet the filter criteria are listed.

  6. In the list of profiles, select those that you want to activate for Community.

  7. Click Community that appears at the bottom of the page, and select Activate.

    Click_Community.png
    • If some of the selected profiles cannot be activated for Community (for example, because they are already activated or because Community does not support the social media platform), a message with details appears.
      Review the profiles that cannot be activated, and click Activate (n) where n is the number of profiles that will be activated.

    • If all selected profiles are eligible for Community activation, the profiles are activated for Community.

You can deactivate profiles at any point. To do so, select Deactivate under the Community option, and confirm the deactivation. Once the profiles are deactivated, Community stops gathering their content.

Check your profile role

Let’s start with checking what your profile role is.

It’s important to always check your profile role in Emplifi because it’s often forgotten, and a known reason why many users are not able to reply to messages in Community.

For more information about profile roles in general, see Profile Roles.

There are two ways of finding the Profile Role per profile a user has:

Users Settings:

  1. Go to Settings -> Users.

  2. Find and click the user.

  3. Click the Profiles tab.
    The profile role is displayed in the dropdown next to each profile.


Profiles Settings:

  1. Go to Settings -> Profiles.

  2. Find and click the profile.

  3. Click the Users tab.
    The profile role is displayed in the dropdown next to each user.

Set up a profile role for Community

You may know the profile role assigned to a user, but you can’t tell which permissions it grants through the Profiles/Users menus.

For more information about profile roles in general, see Profile Roles.

To check the deeper into the profile roles in Emplifi, you need to go to the Roles & Permissions Menu.

  1. Go to SettingsRoles & Permissions;

  2. Click Profile Roles

In the Profile Roles section, you will see all the default and the created profile roles for this Account.

The blue dots represent the access level of the profile role. The access level indicates in which platform modules is a profile visible to a user based on their profile role; it doesn’t tell you the exact permissions.

Pressing a profile role from the list will pop-up a menu with all the permissions this role grants for each platform module.

Let’s take the default “Content Creator (Does Not Need Approval)” role as an example:

Content_creator.png

As you can see in the print above, this profile role will give you visibility over the profile, in Analytics, Dashboard, Content, Community, and Publisher.

Now, regarding Community and Publisher modules, there are a few more options available. These are the permissions a user will have to the profiles with this profile role assigned. Here are the levels of access to profile content in Community and Publisher:

  • View Only
    A user can only view profile content.

  • Create
    A user can view and create profile content/replies, but needs approval for publishing/answering.

  • Create, Publish
    A user can view, create, and publish profile content/replies without approval.

  • Create, Publish, Approve
    A user can view, create, publish, and approve profile content.

  • (Publisher only) Approve
    A user can only view and approve profile content.

If you have sufficient privileges (see Account Roles), you can edit/delete/add a profile role. If you can do neither, ask an Account Admin to do the task. To find an Account Admin, see “Find the users with a specific account role” in Account Roles.

JavaScript errors detected

Please note, these errors can depend on your browser setup.

If this problem persists, please contact our support.