Actions & Buttons in Community feeds and How to Use Them
In this article, we will describe the actions and buttons on the content within your Community feeds. Communication cues within feeds improve collaboration and productivity.
We take the following dark post as an example:
And let’s start dissecting it.
The content header is composed of the social page icon followed by the name of the user or page who commented or posted. Under this, you’ll see how the page’s name appears in the link or its ID (the page that received the comment or post).
To the right, you’ll see the content type, and when the post/comment was published.
Ticking the box to the left enables a bar with a few actions for this content, shown below:
When you press the page/user’s name, as shown below
a side panel (to the right) will appear with info about the page’s likes, the category and all the content this user/page posted (doesn’t include direct messages). The same will appear for users, but no likes or category data will be displayed.
If you press the page’s name/ID, you will be redirected to its home page on the social platform.
If you press the date, you will be redirected to this content on the social platform:
The body is where the text and content is:Not much more to say about this one… If you want to check what type of content is available for Community, check our guide here.
The “footer” is where you can perform most of the actions such as like, comment, share, apply status, sentiment, notes, labels, assign to users, etc.
Pressing the icon to the right will allow you to change the page/profile you’ll use to like, reply/comment and share, for this content.
By design, it automatically picks the page/profile that received the post/comment, but it’s always good to double-check!
Pressing Comment allows you to reply to the post/comment.
Pressing Share redirects to our Publisher module, so you can publish this same content on another page.
The row below is where you can do most of the actions.
To set a status manually, simply press either the status buttons shown below, for the action options to be displayed.
The current status assigned to a conversation will be displayed as highlighted in the image below:
Set the tweet, comment or direct message conversation to Done once the communication is over. Community users can either set it automatically after a reply or set it manually.
If the person replies to a conversation with Done status, this conversation will be automatically set to In Progress.
Set the tweet, comment or direct message conversation to In progress for unresolved communication.
Users have to set this status manually, but in case the commenter replies to a conversation with the action set to Done, this conversation will be automatically set to In Progress.
This status has to be set manually
Content with none of the status above assigned
Sentiment is automatically detected by Emplifi’s algorithm, depending on whether the comment is detected as “positive” (green), “negative” (red), or neutral (grey).You can check if the sentiment was manually or automatically applied by hovering the mouse over the sentiment icon, as shown below.
Check our detailed sentiment guide here.
Internal notes function like an internal chat for Community users (internals). Using them across teams improves collaboration and productivity. The number shows how many notes have been left on this piece of incoming communication.Once the icon is pressed, the internal notes panel will be displayed on the right side of the page:Mentioned users may be notified by email or in-Suite. Check the Assign section below for clarification.
By pressing the label icon, the labels menu will be displayed on the right side of the page where you will be able to add or remove post labels for this specific post. The number shows how many labels have been applied to this piece of incoming communication.
You can assign content to users or groups. The number shows how many users are currently assigned.
By pressing the assign icon, the assign menu will be displayed on the right side of the page, where you will be able to assign or unassign the users or groups for this specific post.
In this menu, you can also choose to leave an internal note. If you write an internal note, this will be automatically added as a new internal note to this piece of content.
Will assigned users receive a notification?
Assigned users can either receive a notification by email, in the product, or both. This depends if the assigned users have these options set in the notifications menu (Emplifi Suite Settings → Notifications). Check the image below for reference:
The more options icon will give you a few more actions, as shown in the image below.
Let’s focus on those that haven’t been presented yet.
As the name suggests, it will give you a list of all the actions that have taken place concerning this piece of communication.
The post will also be hidden in the social platform.
Once the post is archived, you will only have access to it if you filter your feed(s) to show archived content.
RemoveRemoves the comment/post from both Suite and the Social page. Can’t remove direct messages (social API restriction).
Bans this user from posting on your page.
Create Salesforce Case
See Integrate Community and Salesforce for more information.